Latest Story

by Jessica

Esteemed Readers,

The other day, someone asked me to list some of my closest friends and mentors. I promptly listed the Bronte sisters, Jane Austen, Mark Twain, Thackeray, Dickens, and Louisa May Alcott. In making this list, I was forced to acknowledge that a large percentage (actually all) of my closest friends and mentors are dead. But this having been the case since the beginning of our relationships, I was not too depressed.

What about you? Can you list your mentors, the people who have influenced your work the most, and are you lucky enough to have them living? (In the non-seance sense, of course.) Maybe you even know them in person!

I leave you with that food for thought, and this week’s blog post, the second installment of Feathers.  If you’re new to the story, you can start with the first installment of Feathers, here. (FYI Feathers won last week’s poll to decide which story to continue with this week. But if you were rooting for Waterproof and Green–the story about the guy whose parents kicked him out after he got kicked out of college– you should know it was a slim 6-4 win. So, unlike some voting situations, your vote here really does count!)

Have a wonderful Monday, and as always, thanks for reading,

Jessica

